Holidays and Governance


St. Mary’s County Library will be closed to the public on the following holidays:

  • New Year’s Day
  • Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr’s Birthday
  • President’s Day
  • Good Friday
  • Easter Sunday
  • Memorial Day*
  • Independence Day
  • Labor Day
  • Columbus Day*
  • Veteran’s Day
  • Thanksgiving Day
  • Christmas Eve
  • Christmas Day

*closed on the federal holiday.

In addition to the above holidays, St. Mary’s County Library will close at 5:00 PM on the Wednesday before Thanksgiving and at 5:00 PM on New Year’s Eve.


As defined in Title 23, Article 403 of the Education Laws of the State of Maryland, the St. Mary’s County Library is governed by a seven-member Board of Library Trustees.  Each Trustee is appointed by the St. Mary’s County Commissioners from a list supplied by the incumbent Board.  Each term is for 5 years and a Trustee may serve no more than 10 consecutive years.  All Trustees serve without remuneration of any kind.