Residents and Nonresidents
For Maryland residents, the first card is free. Non‐residents pay $15.00 per year. Identification is
required to verify current address. Patrons must notify the library of changes in name, address, or other personal information.
A parent or legal guardian must sign for applicants under the age of 16. A child must be present
to receive a card. Your signature on your child’s application indicates that you accept
responsibility for supervising your child’s use of the library.
The borrower or guardian is responsible for the card’s security, for any material checked out and
for any charges incurred. For your protection, patrons are encouraged to report lost or stolen
Library cards may be used at any public library Maryland.
To apply for a library card:
- Library cards may be applied for online or in person.
- Applicants must present identification showing current mailing address. If this is not possible, a card will be issued with instructions that they MUST bring proof of address the next time they visit the library. A note will be placed in the Notes field stating they did not have ID on registration, with the date. When staff see the note at the next visit, the customer will be required to provide identification, if not they will not be allowed to check out. The note will be removed once the customer has provided proper identification.
My First Library Card:
- A special card is available for our youngest residents. Any age person may receive a “My First Library Card” but it is intended specifically for children birth through grade 2.
For Adults (16 years old and over):
Proof of address must be present; such as, Maryland Driver’s License, Maryland Age of
Majority Card, or Maryland ID issued by the Maryland Department of Motor Vehicles;
Utility Bill showing local address; checkbook showing local address; postmarked envelope
from a business or professional person showing current local address; military ID; ID of
parent, if a minor with no other ID.
For Juveniles (under 16 years old):
Parent or Legal Guardian must sign application
Parent or Legal Guardian’s ID from above list
Temporary or Out of State Residents:
- Must show local address AND must show proof of permanent mailing address
- Pay a $15.00 fee per year
Library Cards through Schools, Childcare Providers:
The St. Mary’s County Library is eager to issue library cards to students through the schools and
childcare providers. This not only enhances cooperation but helps ensure that children who want
library cards are able to obtain them.
Library Cards and Deposit Collections for Schools, Child Care Providers, Organizations:
An “institutional borrower’s card” can be issued to a school and child care providers. This will
allow their staff to borrow materials which are checked out for 6 weeks. These materials cannot
be renewed. The school and provider are responsible for any fines incurred for lost or damaged
materials and for late fees.
By accepting the card, the school agrees to the following:
- The school will designate a contact person responsible for managing the deposit collection.
- A school representative will pick up and return deposit collection items to the Library on the scheduled dates.
- The school will pay any fines incurred for lost or damaged items. The school may set its own policies for collecting fines from students; however, the school is responsible for prompt payment to the Library.
- School deposit collections will consist of books selected by Library staff. Exact number and type of items to be loaned will be determined based on school size and student age range.